My Story – Arizona Summer Service – July & August 2013

I choose to do my “My Story Project” on my summer service trip to Flagstaff, Arizona during the summer of 2013, between my junior and senior years of high school. I traveled during the last week of July and the first week of August to Flagstaff, Arizona with twenty-three of my peers and four faculty chaperones. This trip was what I consider to be one of the most important experiences in my life to date. As someone who dedicates as much of his time to service as possible, having the opportunity to travel across the country to serve others for almost two weeks was something that I could not pass up, and something that I could say with certainty, influenced me as a person.

Some of the challenges that I had with making this video was having to scavenge as many pictures together from my trip as I could (there are approximately eight hundred photos that I took myself over the course of my trip, all of them scattered across various elecronic devices and stored on a number of flash drives), as well as learning how to use Adobe Primere Pro, and getting back into the habit of using Audacity, an audio recording program that I used frequently in high school during my time as a Sound Mixer.
I think the best part of the video is the beginning with the communications between the flight I was on and the Las Vegas Air Trafic Control, mostly because I reconstructed it from memory and re-recorded it on my own.

(For those of you who are interested in learning more about my service trip, feel free to visit our trip’s blog here.)

Leave a Reply

